Quick Tip: New York State Mandated Workplace Harassment Training - Mackoul Risk Solutions | Condominium and Co-op Insurance on Long Island, NY Skip to main content

Quick Tip: New York State Mandated Workplace Harassment Training

Employers of all sizes must comply with New York State’s workplace harassment policy, and training must be completed annually- Rebecca explains.

In 2018 NYS passed legislation that protects employees from multiple types of harassment in the workplace. Employers of all sizes must comply with the law. In addition to providing a Policy, Compliant Form and Posting Notice, training for employees must be completed on an annual basis.

It is important to complete the training requirements and to provide them early. Your employee is protected in the workplace the moment they are hired and the employer may be liable for the actions of employees immediately upon hire. It is even recommended that the employee is given the policy and training prior to their start date.

Although specific fines for non-compliance have not yet been released, typical Labor Law violations the are fines of up to $1,000 for the first violation, $2,000, for the second, and $3,000 for the third and subsequent violations. The largest penalty for injury or death is triple the maximum penalty allowed under the law for such a violation. Please contact us with any questions about the State’s requirements

If you have any questions about the State’s requirements, please contact us here.