New Jersey recently added dramatic expansions to the New Jersey Family Leave Act and New Jersey Family Leave insurance- Rebecca shares the updates and employer requirements.
In February, Governor Murphy signed into law dramatic expansions to the New Jersey Family Leave Act and New Jersey’s Family Leave insurance. These expansions will allow workers in the state to take off more time to care for a newborn or sick relative and to collect more of their pay while on leave. The New Jersey Family Leave Act entitles certain employees to take up to 12 weeks of family leave in a 24-month period without losing their jobs.
Employers must provide this leave if:
· The employer has at least 30 employees. This is down from 50 employees in previous years.
· The employee has worked for that employer for at least one year and has worked at least 1000 hours during the last 12 months.
· The Leave of absence is being taken to care for or bond with a child within 1 year of the child’s birth or placement for adoption or foster care, or to care for a family member or someone who is the “equivalent” of family, who has a serious health condition.
New Jersey currently provides up to 6 weeks of family leave insurance benefits. Beginning July 1, 2020, the law will allow up to 12 weeks of continuous family leave benefit. Payroll contributions from employees finance this program. The taxable leave insurance benefits is the same as the taxable wage base for unemployment and temporary disability insurance.
For more information please contact Rebecca here.